The Student Room Group

Acting course after university?

I am currently in my first year at my sixth form college, and studying biology which I originally planned to read at university. But I've recently had a change of heart. I've decided that I'd really like to go into acting, which I really love ('you only live once' etc.). One idea was to go ahead and study biology at university, and while I'm there I could join a drama society to get some more experience and practise. Once I leave, I could then apply to a drama school and (hopefully) try to get a BA in acting, or something similar, which would be a great stepping stone. Studying biology first would give me a 'cushion' so that I have something to fall back on if, for whatever reason, the acting idea doesn't work out.
Is this a good idea? If it isn't and completely insane, has anybody got any advice?
If it is ok, I'm also not sure if it would work financially. I've recently learnt quite a bit about the finances of going to university, such as student loans, and I believe similar things are necessary when going to do a BA in acting. However, can you get the same grants and loans from the government twice? Would you end up paying back double the 9% of the excess when earning over £21,000? Does anybody know?
Also, this is my first post on this site, so if I have done something wrong, sorry and please tell me.
Hello!
Doing 2 BA's is an expensive option as the government will only fund you for 4 years of study so if you do decide to do the biology degree you're probably better off financially to do an MA at drama school after not a BA, not all drama schools offer MA and not all of the are accredited but if you research there are some good ones out there.
Also, in terms of drama societies, Cambridge has the best drama soc in the country 'Footlights' and many actors have become famous and successful through this program.. Emma Thompson, Eddie Redmayne. However some uni drama soc's aren't very good at all.