The Student Room Group

Political theory - wth.

Hi,

- I am studying history and politics at SOAS.
- I dont understand my module on the intro to political theory :s-smilie:
- I hate intro to political theory :mad:
- I will most probably fail intro to political theory :frown:
- Are there any revision/summary books on political theory that condense the rubbish that these people write? :confused:
- I hate intro to political theory. :mad:

Reply 1
I did introduction to political theory at my university as a module and I hated it. My advice would be to just follow the lectures and recommended readings very closely and keep trying until you understand it. Also speak to the module conveyor and tell them about your difficulties with the module, they are usually quite helpful and will put you on the right track.
What sort of things are covered in the module? Which theories/ what does it look at?
Reply 3
Original post by Historicity
What sort of things are covered in the module? Which theories/ what does it look at?

We look at basically a different theorist each week: so Hobbes with the Leviathan, Rousseau, Schumpeter, Mill, Foucault (absolute rubbish), Marx etc
*confesses to not understanding political theory*
*proclaims Foucault to be rubbish*

:colonhash: