The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
i struggle with it too!
especially the ITCZ and air stream thingys...im destined to fail:redface:
Reply 2
i know its a nightmare, well the heinman book is ok as r the phillip allan guides if ya can get one from his website. i just cant get it to go in at all. i'm studying the same as you apart from did drama at AS and i wanna go kent, to do law!
Reply 3
hey people!! lol, i find the other area (population and the economy) harder, so lets swap!! hehe. i'll try and hlep ya with this area, and could you hlep me with mine?? (i set up a thread). awesome. :smile:

erm, i have some useful books, i'll post detail up later. ones our textbook, and the others are revision guides. i guess to start with, think of the ITCZ as kinda separate from the cells and jet streams, and other air masses that affect the UK. think of them separately, even though i guess they are all linked up there in the sky. but when writing essay i tackle them in different paragraphs and the teachers seem to like it!! :cool:

>>kk, so the ITCZ: [this is actually the Inter-tropical Convergence Zone where the northeasterly and southeasterly tradewinds converge/ meet together] but we need to know that it moves/ migrates. It is usually located between 10o N and S of the equator but migrates. This causes wet and dry seasons in countries located in the tropics.
>>Presence of the ITCZ: The suns rays heat the land and air. This is thermal heating. This causes the air to rise so convectional rainfall falls on the land below.
>>Absence of the ITCZ (in the other area therefore): lack of the heating of air means no convecional rainfall. therefore a dry season occurs. if the ITCZ stays in the other area for so long (ie years, which has happened) a drought may occur.

Reply 4
cells

notice the 3 types of cell: the hadley cell, ferrel cell, and polar cell.

the jet streams and wind belts are basically guided by these convection cells.