The Student Room Group
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews

LSE or St Andrews

I am a Canadian student and I currently hold offers from both universities for International Relations and History. I can't decide.
Original post by AlexHradecky
I am a Canadian student and I currently hold offers from both universities for International Relations and History. I can't decide.

As a broad general rule, I would go with LSE over St Andrews, but for International Relations, it's a much closer issue, given St Andrew's good reputation in that field.

If your area of study was economics, for example, I would go with LSE.

And of course, the two environments are totally different.

For what it's worth, given that you are a Canadian, I know someone who passed up McGill to go to St Andrews.

I think to some extent that choosing St Andrews over LSE would be like selecting a prestigious liberal arts college over a large better known university. But have their pros and their cons.
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews
Reply 2
Original post by floridadad55
As a broad general rule, I would go with LSE over St Andrews, but for International Relations, it's a much closer issue, given St Andrew's good reputation in that field.

For what it's worth, given that you are a Canadian, I know someone who passed up McGill to go to St Andrews.

I think to some extent that choosing St Andrews over LSE would be like selecting a prestigious liberal arts college over a large better known university. But have their pros and their cons.

I have been accepted to McGill and University of Toronto, though I was just wondering what would be the better option between St Andys and LSE. I know both are great, though I hear LSE is considered more 'prestigious' and better...

thanks though!
Original post by AlexHradecky