The Student Room Group

Economic Policy graduate courses

Greetings.

To give myself some background i achieved GCSE C/B grades worked in retail and bar work for a few years before doing an Access Course (9 Distinctions, 51 Merits). I am currently studying BA Economics For Business at Leeds Metropolitan.

After university i'm not fully set on a particular career (i'd like to go into politics eventually) and so at the moment i'm considering anything from the civil service to the railway operations (TFL, Network Rail, Treasury ect..), mainly i don't want to work in retail though.

Whilst studying i have increasingly enjoyed the link to politics which economics has and also macroeconomics (micro is a bitch). As such i am considering something like Economic Policy as a graduate course both because it sounds interesting and because i think doing so at a much better university will boost my employment prospects (plus i'm willing to spend the money).

Here are what i have my eye on so far...

UCL - economic policy
Birmingham - economic policy
bristol - economics and public policy
glasgow - economic and financial sector policy
glasgow - international finance and economic policy

All are a vaguely reasonable cost bar UCL which is £14k.

Essentially i'd just like to know if anybody has anything to add about the courses, which universities will put me in good stead in terms of employment (i presume UCL and Bristol) and also whether my lack of GCSE A*'s, Access Course or the fact i studied at Leeds Met will be of detriment to me.
Reply 1
A good list of unis in chosen courses. I heard that UCL and Bristol tend to be more on the quant side when it comes to modelling and problem solving. Some strong electives in monetary policy QE. So know that econ policy has a strong micro component when it comes to analysis.
Reply 2
Original post by Tcannon