The Student Room Group

My boss is stressing me out - new job

I just started a new part time job in a pub this week. I've been working since Monday. It is now Saturday and I just finished my late night shift (12.30 at night).

This is my first job working in a 'shop' (if you can call a pub that). So I am new to using a till. I have also never worked in a pub so I don't know all the drinks, which size glasses to use and there are certain other things I don't know but I am trying to learn. Basically there is loads to take in!

When I first started, my boss was fairly nice and said 'yeah i know it is hard and there is always a lot to remember'. So he was quite understanding when I made mistakes or didn't know where something is.

Anyway his dog was ill and had to get taken to the vet. This costs him loads of money. Then the dog came out of the vets and ran into barbed wire and is now severly injured and on its last legs.

Ever since about Wednesday till today he seems to have lost patience with me, can sometimes be rude, can get angry to me. What used to be some little advice 'eg make sure you do this and this, before doing this' has become a much more negative and angry 'you SHOULD be doing this and this, you should know that now!'.

I am assuming that because of his dog which I am sure he loves and is worried about, he is blaming me for things at work as he is stressed. I don't know this for certain but I'm assuming that.

But it has already made me hate my job and now if I do have any uncertainness I am scared to ask him because I think he would either get angry at me, or judge me in a bad way and think I am not a good employee and I may get the sack.

He used to be fairly patient but now he is not. Maybe I am a slow learner? I don't know. I don't know how long it takes before it becomes second nature to know all the drinks, know how to work everything and do everything smoothly without any problems.