The Student Room Group

Do squats make your butt, thighs and hips bigger?

I'm looking to get a more womanly curve to my body, will squats help?
or do they make you lose weight in these areas?

and if they do add weight to make you look curvier, why do men do them? (sorry if it's a stupid question...i'm new to the world of working out)
(edited 11 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Toodles8
I'm looking to get a more womanly curve to my body, will squats help?
or do they make you lose weight in these areas?

From what I gather from friends in the gym etc, it adds toning to your bum and thighs. Any muscle becomes firmer and bigger creating a more womanly shape. However if you aren't blessed with the genetics and there is not much muscle, just fat it could make it smaller.
Reply 2
Yes to line 1.
No to line 2.

Original post by Alex360
However if you aren't blessed with the genetics and there is not much muscle, just fat it could make it smaller.

huh?
Original post by Alex360
From what I gather from friends in the gym etc, it adds toning to your bum and thighs. Any muscle becomes firmer and bigger creating a more womanly shape. However if you aren't blessed with the genetics and there is not much muscle, just fat it could make it smaller.

But still rounder and more aesthetically pleasing. Also you'll find advantages in having a stronger lower body, not least carry stuff.
Reply 4
Original post by tooosh
Yes to line 1.
No to line 2.

huh?

Genetically, not everybody has the same bum, some butt's have more muscle, some have more fat, some are flat. Squats are exercise if you don't have much muscle in the first place it will be difficult/near impossible to build your butt and you will just be burning calories. In the process of burning calories, your butt will most probably shrink as well if there is not much muscle.
Yes, hence the current meme of. "she squats, bro" with pictures of girls with nice bums :cool:
Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 6