The Student Room Group

I got a PhD scholarship but now need advice! (Updated)

EDS
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 1
Essentially a funded PhD is like accepting a job. Where and how you work can be negotiable with some universities, and sometimes it's down to an agreement with your supervisors. However an expectation has been clearly set before you accept, so that will form part of your contract. It's now a matter of gauging whether there's room for informal negotiation.

Can you approach your prospective supervisors direct and see whether there's any wiggle room? i.e. Officially the uni wants you on campus Mon-Fri 9-5, but your supervisors might be prepared to turn a blind eye if you want to work at home for part of the week. Some supervisors won't have the discretion to allow this and will be bound by uni or faculty regulations. Some do have that discretion, but prefer to have research students visible at a desk or in the library during office hours. Others - like mine - couldn't care less about expected hours/place of work and where/how you work, as long as the job gets done and you're available to meet with them as and when requested.

You probably won't know where you stand in this kind of situation unless you ask your supervisors for their view.

P.S. Congratulations! However you feel about the mechanics of it, getting a funded PhD is a major achievement.
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 2
Some supervisors like to be very hands on and know where they can find you. I'd start the PhD and see how it goes. Go in everyday at first, but if there is very little contact start spending a few days a week at home. Living 2 hours away is far from ideal though, as they are paying you its understandable they expect to see you for more than just your viva :tongue:.
Reply 3
Original post by kits30