The Student Room Group

Can you sue Student Finance ?

Hi Everyone can any one give me any advice on what to do about student finance. I am a parent and student studying in my second year at University.currently I am at logger heads with student finance because they are asking me to provided impossible evidence. For example, in the form of a child tax credits annual award letter 2011/2012 to confirm that I was in receipt of child tax credits for 2011/2012 and that I am in low income and entitled to claim student loans etc, which is fine and fair you would think. But the problem is that student finance doesn't seem to understand that not everyone who claims child tax credits gets an annual tax credit award letter , not all, as the HM Revenue and Customs doses selected individual for automatic renewal of claim meaning these people don't get that Tax Credit Award Letter so I and they cannot send it as evidence because they didn't do it in my case and potentially in other peoples to and Student Finance are refusing any other evidence , to prove I am telling the truth and they say that they will take my funding away. The idea of education is meant for everyone and access to higher education through student loans I feel that they are discriminating against me on the grounds of been of low income by the technicality. Any advice would be great.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by LeasleyMarie