The Student Room Group

Self-teaching Chemistry A-level (as a private candidate)?

To cut a long story short, I'm considering applying for graduate medicine. As a law student, I don't have the required Chemistry A-level (nor Biology/Physics). I want to sit it as an external candidate, but can't afford to do the whole distance-learning-with-a-tutor business. I would need to self-teach.

To anybody who has experience of self-teaching Chemistry at A-level: is it do-able and how long did it take you? I have A*s in 3 sciences at GCSE and close on 100% in all of them, so science isn't (or at least, never used to be) something I struggled with.

Advice in this respect for biology, human biology and physics too would be appreciated, as I need to choose one of those alongside Chemistry. Do any of the three stand out as being more difficult than the rest?

Also, on a side note, are there any Chemistry/Biology/Physics A-levels which don't have practical exams, or do all exam boards require them? Much as practicals sound fun, they are also expensive to take as an external candidate so I'd rather avoid them if possible.
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I am currently doing A2 English Lit, A2 French, AS English Language and A2 English Language with a distance course, but now I am at the revision stage I have realised that I could have taught myself everything with the AQA Revision Guides.

It's definitely possible, although I can't give you any advice about Chemistry, sorry :/. I thought I'd just let you know that you could do it :smile:

Remember, as a private candidate you need to organise your own exam centre place and send in the right forms etc. You''ll probably find everything you need to know on the AQA website.
Reply 2
Original post by spwills