The Student Room Group

Non-vocational degrees - worthless?

It seems to me a non-vocational degree carries the prestige of the institution it was studied at.

I am currently studying a History degree, and in the future I would like to immigrate to Australia, but in the context of immigration I don't see how having a History degree would help me.

Australia wants people with vocational, technical skills, no History graduates.

It seems to me that the modern job market has changed. Non-vocational subjects are now no good to anyone. Employers want people with skills that they can make immediate use of, not people with arts degrees.

Maybe if you did your Arts degree at a Russell group it carries more prestige, but not because of the degree itself but because of the university you went to.

In short, doing an arts degree at an ex-poly is a sure road to unemployment.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by TobaccoSmoke
It seems to me a non-vocational degree carries the prestige of the institution it was studied at.

I am currently studying a History degree, and in the future I would like to immigrate to Australia, but in the context of immigration I don't see how having a History degree would help me.

Australia wants people with vocational, technical skills, no History graduates.

It seems to me that the modern job market has changed. Non-vocational subjects are now no good to anyone. Employers want people with skills that they can make immediate use of, not people with arts degrees.

Maybe if you did your Arts degree at a Russell group it carries more prestige, but not because of the degree itself but because of the university you went to.

In short, doing an arts degree at an ex-poly is a sure road to unemployment.

Are you not bored of these self indulgent and crassly arrogant wind ups?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
I would extend that even further to pure science degrees - who needs a Physicist when you can employ an Engineer?