The Student Room Group

Language for references

Hello guys,

Im studying in a University in Mexico, but im applying to study an MSc in the UK, and I have seen most universities require 2 references.

The thing is, I dont know if I can really trust any of my teachers to write the reference since they all speak Spanish and I dont think their level of English is good enough to write a proper reference.

What would happen in this case ?, can I ask past employers or the principal of the university to write the references ?
Reply 1
Why not get the references in Spanish and provide a professional translation. Presumably you will have to provide a translation of your results transcript anyway.

Personally, I think admissions in the UK would wonder why you didn't have references from current teachers.
Reply 2
fdZ
OP
Original post by Ellim
Why not get the references in Spanish and provide a professional translation. Presumably you will have to provide a translation of your results transcript anyway.

Personally, I think admissions in the UK would wonder why you didn't have references from current teachers.

I thought about doing this, and yeah I need to get my transcripts translated anyways, but I thought I was not supposed to see the references at all, I thought teachers had to submit them directly to the university ?
Reply 3
Original post by fdZ
I thought about doing this, and yeah I need to get my transcripts translated anyways, but I thought I was not supposed to see the references at all, I thought teachers had to submit them directly to the university ?

You could ask the teachers to submit them to a translator and then to submit the translation to the uni? Check with the uni first what their recommended procedure is though!
(edited 10 years ago)
Ask the university. You are probably one of hundreds of applicants in this position. I suspect they will be happy to accept a reference in broken / imperfect English. Having recent references is what's most important.
Reply 5