The Student Room Group

Bad qualities that would be good to have.

I know in some med school interviews, they ask you what you think are your bad qualities. Could anyone give me any good examples of things i coud say? I don't want to say, "I don't suffer from bad qualities because i'm perfect". Or,
"I'd have to say my worst quality is that evry saturday night i go out, pick up a prostitute and then kill her."

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I think i said I'm not very good at delegating. Because, not delegating kind of means you are working really hard, which is a good thing! But i said i know as a medical student and a Dr i wont have the time or resources to do everything myself and part of working in a team involves delegating. So it was an area i knew i was weak in and would make every effort to resolve. A bit of a wishy washy answer but it worked for me!
Reply 2
Try to think of things that you've never done before and how you would overcome those. For example, you may have never worked as part of a team, but as long as u say how you would deal with this difficulty then that's one of the things they are looking for.
Reply 3
"Well, if I wasn't so modest, I'd be perfect."

:wink:
Reply 4
So addicted to precription meds you know the BNF backwards including the pharmacology of everything :wink: :smile:
Reply 5
smileymedic
I think i said I'm not very good at delegating. Because, not delegating kind of means you are working really hard, which is a good thing!

Or that you are working so hard that you could make silly mistakes (could literally be fatal in medcine), that you are not a team player, and are a bit neurotic? :wink:
Reply 6
I went with 'I sometimes find it hard to unwind and relax, and may take things too seriously/work too hard' which oddly enough is the truth. I countered it by saying what extracurricular activities I would do and how I would like to try many new things when i got to uni, making new friends etc
Reply 7