The Student Room Group

Best board for Physics (Independent learning)

I have a teacher in my sixthform who is confident in me and prepared to carry out any coursework required for this course,

Which board is best at...

Giving specification relevant questions?
Having Comprehensive textbooks?
Having more theory and less maths? (Although I like maths I find Long maths questions (6markers) easy to drop marks on by simple mistakes)
Has more content?

From what I've heard so far: AQA is best and OCR B is completely ****, I've got no experience of either, so I want to know more before I decide

Cheers,

Posted from TSR Mobile
I have no experience of AQA physics so i can't help you there. I did OCR Physics B and it was terrible, the books are beyond useless and a complete waste of money. CGP produce small revision books but these are not very useful as they are too brief.

OCR A is much better, the books are very good and there is no third section in the summer exams, unlike OCR B, so i would recommend OCR A.
Reply 2
Original post by nebelbon
I have no experience of AQA physics so i can't help you there. I did OCR Physics B and it was terrible, the books are beyond useless and a complete waste of money. CGP produce small revision books but these are not very useful as they are too brief.

OCR A is much better, the books are very good and there is no third section in the summer exams, unlike OCR B, so i would recommend OCR A.

Yeah that's what I've heard about OCR B, I should also add it's what my school offers and all people I've spoken to about it say;

A - Teachers and and can't teacher the course
B - There's nothing you can learn it from, CGP guides really are lacking and they're the one thing on offer
C - Even if you could learn it the exam style is so abstract you might as well be reading a book on late Chinese history.

Thanks for the advice :- )
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 3
*Sneaky bump*