The Student Room Group

Calling all 2nd/3rd year OPTOM students!

Hi Folks

I am a mature student starting the Undergrad Optometry degree in Sept & I have joined this forum to get a recommendation from someone who is either doing the degree currently or has just finished.

In terms of what to expect workwise, can anyone advise me on anything to study ahead of time that is required for the first year to make the course simpler? Perhaps this is something that you did or should have done in hindsight?

How tough is the maths side of the course for eg, Geometrical Optics & Optical Dispensing?

I have tried reading through some of the many text books needed for the course, but coming from a different industry, this is like gobbledy goook..

I would be really grateful for any advice. Please feel free to PM me.

Many Thanks
Which uni are you joining ?
Reply 2
Original post by jamess115
Hi Folks

I am a mature student starting the Undergrad Optometry degree in Sept & I have joined this forum to get a recommendation from someone who is either doing the degree currently or has just finished.

In terms of what to expect workwise, can anyone advise me on anything to study ahead of time that is required for the first year to make the course simpler? Perhaps this is something that you did or should have done in hindsight?

How tough is the maths side of the course for eg, Geometrical Optics & Optical Dispensing?

I have tried reading through some of the many text books needed for the course, but coming from a different industry, this is like gobbledy goook..

I would be really grateful for any advice. Please feel free to PM me.

Many Thanks

Hi, I'm not an Optometry student but as part of my Physics course we do a lot of Optics and geometric optics is by and large fairly simple. The maths required for Optics even going through wave optics and into quantum optics is not very difficult so don't worry about the maths content. :smile:
Reply 3