The Student Room Group

3-parent IVF

3-Parent IVF is the next up-coming medical advance and could be a great step for the UK in terms of overcoming mitochondrial disease. mitochondrial disease has a range of severities: from no symptoms to organ disease, and death. it is a result of failing, or in efficient mitochondria and impacts 1 in 6,500 children in the UK

the procedure:
the mother and donors nucleus' are removed from the eggs. the donor's nucleus is then disposed of and replaced with the mother's nucleus; leaving an egg with healthy mitochondria and the mothers nucleus.
this egg is then fertilised and then re-implanted into the mother.
the child then contains 1% DNA from another person, and that DNA will also be passed on to future generations within that family.

i am studying the topic for an extended project as part of my a-levels and im interested in what everyone has to say about whether you think it should be allowed and why you have come to your reasons considering both the medical and ethical side of the argument

thanks for your input! :biggrin:
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
You might want to give us a bit more background...

Posted from TSR Mobile
A child with 3 different biological parents ?
Reply 3
Original post by mmmpie
You might want to give us a bit more background...

Posted from TSR Mobile

ive added more information, hope that helps!
Reply 4
Original post by DuncanMono

some people believe it results in three people, some people say the third party isnt really a parent, because only 1% of the DNA is from them, what do you think?
Reply 5
Original post by DuncanMono

Not quite. The only genetic information from the 'third parent' (the enucleated donor egg) is the mitochondrial DNA, so only 37 genes - the nuclear DNA, which determines the genotype of the child, is from the parents. Essentially, the third parent only provides mitochondria and a 'house' for the nucleus from the mother :smile:
Reply 6
Original post by 6995