The Student Room Group

Chemistry Applicants 2015

I've seen some other subjects start discussions, so i thought it would be useful if there was one for us 'chemists' :wink:

Whether you are going to/ have/currently study/ed/ing chemistry, feel free to give any useful tips and advice for future applicants here! :biggrin:

I'm currently studying Chemistry,Maths,Biology and History (hopefully dropping history)
I want to apply to study MChem/MSci at Southampton,Bath,Bristol,Nottingham and (yet to decide on 5th choice).

Any opinions from current chemistry students would be brilliant!

Thank you all!

Be sure to check out the Chemistry applicants 2014 wiki too!!
http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki/Chemistry_Applicants_2014
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hi :h: I'm also hoping to apply for chemistry this year!
I'm studying chemistry, maths and biology to A2, and I've just picked up further maths AS. (I just dropped psychology.)
My current university choices are Durham, Warwick, and St Andrews (all for MChem/MSci) and Cambridge for Natural Sciences :smile:
I can't believe how quickly application time is coming around :eek:
(edited 10 years ago)
Nottingham has that great Professor Polyakoff bloke from the Periodic Table videos.
Southampton when I looked around it was very nice, a proper campus too. I liked Southampton as a City too.
Bristol has fantastic new labs and is a nice City.

I go to Imperial (going into 4th/final year). Back when I applied I put Southampton as my Insurance because it was my only sub-AAA offer. I suspect most will be asking for AAA, or higher now.