The Student Room Group

Sometimes I wish I could just give up on careers and just become a housewife...

I'm not really sure which section this thread belongs, so I apologise in advance if I've got it wrong and if mods want to move it

Basically I'm a 21 year old female and for the past few years I've been having constant bad luck with education and careers. I didn't do as well as I'd hoped in my GCSEs, then I failed my A Levels so couldn't go to uni. I tried Open Uni but gave up, and I applied to apprenticeships and access courses but got rejected from them all. I have done volunteering in lots of different things, and I have worked a few paying jobs, but they've mainly been just temporary ones. Right now I work a lowly admin job that my dad helped me get as he knows the boss, but my boss won't pay me until I've been working there for at least two months (it's his policy that I'm struggling to argue with him about), which I haven't yet so I'm still living off parents' money. I don't like the job very much anyway, sometimes I loathe it, but I don't really have anything better to be doing with my time and the job market is terrible right now so I feel I have to stick at it for a while at least for the work experience.

It's annoying because I've had all these different career ideas, but haven't been able to follow through with any because I'm just constantly getting rejections and doors slammed in my face all the time, and always discovering that I'm not as suited for something as I thought. All this work and careers nonsense really gets on top of me and stresses me out. It's even gotten me so depressed to the point where sometimes I just dream about jumping on the train tracks instead of getting on the train on the way to work. I'm starting to loathe this society that puts so much emphasis on needing to be successful and finding the job you love, yet it won't even give me the chance to in the first place!