The Student Room Group

Third Class Degree?

So I'm having a bit of a rubbish moment trying to work out my next move in terms of a legal career. Last year I graduated from Aberystwyth University with a Third Class LLB Law with Honours degree.

Of course I'm deeply ashamed by this and I don't even list the grade on my CV. The main crux is that I was seriously ill during almost the entire portion of my second year but naively I continued to study and tanked my first semester exam. Sadly I couldn't qualify for special circumstances until the illness was properly diagnosed, something that wasn't done until the second semester and as such I only qualified for full resits on those exams; which I did OK in but not enough to mitigate the horrid first semester marks. I graduated with a final score of 48.6 - 0.9% away from the 49.5 that would have got me a 2:2.

I was lucky enough to be accepted onto a masters at Cardiff University this September but having asked a number of people in the legal profession, the general consensus is that I shouldn't waste moneys on a masters because it won't mitigate the Third Class degree and there is apparently very little chance of me securing any meaningful employment in the legal profession with a third.

So just wanted to see if that was the case really; reading online also confirms the advice I've had but I've always wanted to work in the legal sector; I have decent work experience crudentials and a well rounded CV but this Third has really blown me out of the water.

Any suggestions? (other than a form of suicide obviously)
Reply 1
Original post by getchin
So I'm having a bit of a rubbish moment trying to work out my next move in terms of a legal career. Last year I graduated from Aberystwyth University with a Third Class LLB Law with Honours degree.