The Student Room Group

Japanese

Hi, I'm (hopefully) starting Japanese ab initio in September and to say I'm scared is a slight understatement. I do French at the moment and I'm not very good at it, so I'm worried about how well I'm going to be able to do Japanese.

I'm planning on learning hirigana and katakana over the summer but I was wondering if there is anything else I should try to do to make the transition slightly easier for me. :redface:

I know I'm probably panicking unnecessarily and I know I'll have to put a lot of work in when I get to university (especially with an ab initio language) but I just need something to make me feel slightly more confident.
Reply 1
ummm...youll end up getting paid more than us indo-european sell outs....?
Reply 2
drsmeeth
ummm...youll end up getting paid more than us indo-european sell outs....?

Not if I fail I won't :tongue:
Reply 3
Hey im doing Japanese, feeling pretty much the same way as you...:confused: which uni you going to? I should hopefully be going to Sheffield come September :biggrin:
I'm going into second year Japanese, so here are some tips that I learned from mistakes I made.

Buy a kanji dictionary at the start and use it straight away.

Don't just do they work they give you, find extra authentic Japanese material and translate for yourself, with said dictionary.

When -te form (Don't worry if you don't know what this is yet) is introduced, learn it like the back of your hand. It is vital for progression.

Don't do what I do and lament over what you don't know. It will only depress you and hamper your progress.

Ganbatte Sian San.
Reply 5