The Student Room Group

Freaking out, I miss the induction week!

Hi, I am new to TSR and to University. I am supposed to start on the 16th (enrolment) and I have academic induction on the 20th but I am away on holiday for that whole week!
I emailed the course director and she says I can enrol on the 23rd (the day we start) I also asked her "will I miss much?" referring to the academic induction and she said "you will miss the entire academic induction". I don't even know what the induction is and the course director was very unhelpful. I hate missing everything and its making me really anxious. I am thinking of not going on holiday at all because I feel like I am missing everything and be wayy behind!
Will I be missing much?? I don't know what to do!
I am studying Fine Art btw. Please help, i have bad anxiety anyway and I am just freaking out!
Reply 1
Meg , do not freak out :smile:

The induction of University is not vital, I am not say is useless but it not the end of the world if you will miss it; basically during the induction they will tell you general info about the course ,how many teaching hours and individual study, will explain how the grades works, will introduce your lecturers, homework's, holidays and terms,etc.. I guess is pretty much this kind of stuff.

Enjoy your holiday and good luck with your course :smile:
Reply 2
I very much doubt you'll be missing much in terms of academic content, however you'll be missing basic things about your course and the university. You'll probably miss the overview for what you'll cover over that year, how to utilise the facilities (library, art studios etc), which referencing system the art school at your university uses (I assume fine art students still have essays etc). It's all very basic things to be missing, but it's still stuff that will come in useful.