The Student Room Group

Medicine at Oxbridge? Who gets in?

So I'm in my first year of sixth form but I need to make up my mind about whether or not to apply for oxbridge by next term. My tutor reckons I shouldn't because I'd be narrowing my options. I got 10 A*s at gcse but the teachers see me as really quiet so maybe that's a reason why I'm being discouraged. I am incredibly passionate about medicine and I know I would have no difficulty in conveying that at an interview.
So my question is what type of character does it take to get into Medicine at Oxbridge if there is one?

Scroll to see replies

No particular "type" of character. You should definitely apply if you want to go, and obviously 10A* at GCSE is a great start!
Reply 2
Original post by notthatquiet
So I'm in my first year of sixth form but I need to make up my mind about whether or not to apply for oxbridge by next term. My tutor reckons I shouldn't because I'd be narrowing my options. I got 10 A*s at gcse but the teachers see me as really quiet so maybe that's a reason why I'm being discouraged. I am incredibly passionate about medicine and I know I would have no difficulty in conveying that at an interview.
So my question is what type of character does it take to get into Medicine at Oxbridge if there is one?

Smart people who score highly in the relevant exams (GCSEs for Oxford, AS for Cambridge, BMAT for both) and who impress the interviewers. As long as you are capable of having an academic discussion with adults, which is what the interviews are, being "quiet" is no reason to not apply.
(edited 10 years ago)
"The teachers see me as really quiet" username: notthatquiet, interesting.
Reply 4
Obviously, you're not going to get in. You need 14 A*s minimum at GCSE, at least 98.5% UMS average, near perfect BMAT, 6A*s and a* EPQ at A Level and finally you must have cured at least 17 types of cancer.

Edit: I mean, decent grades and decent interview. Damn autocorrect.
Reply 5