The Student Room Group

Teaching Assistant Interview and Observation

Hi, has anyone had an observation and interview for a Teaching Assistant job?

I have one next week at a secondary school and don't know what to expect, especially from the observation. Will I be teaching a class myself or a small group? They haven't told me to prepare or anything, just says there will be an observation and then an interview to follow.

I'm pretty nervous about it to be honest as I have had some experience of working in a school while studying at university but not enough to be thrown in the deep end teaching something I know nothing about.

Can anyone shed any light?

Thanks
Reply 1
Original post by akash140990
Hi, has anyone had an observation and interview for a Teaching Assistant job?

I have one next week at a secondary school and don't know what to expect, especially from the observation. Will I be teaching a class myself or a small group? They haven't told me to prepare or anything, just says there will be an observation and then an interview to follow.

I'm pretty nervous about it to be honest as I have had some experience of working in a school while studying at university but not enough to be thrown in the deep end teaching something I know nothing about.

Can anyone shed any light?

Thanks

they shouldn't be expecting you to deliver a lesson. They'll be hoping to see you interact with the pupils as if you were a TA (probably what you've already done). If possible have a chat with the teacher who's lesson your in before if possible and see what they're expecting, if that's not possible, assume you're having a trial run as TA.

Try and generate something to say at the interview e.g. Kidname seems quite bright but is easily distracted by her friends.
Reply 2
I work as a TA in a secondary school. Don't panic! It's actually quite easy and the interviewers won't be expecting too much of you.