The Student Room Group

A2 Law problem

I studied AS law last year and achieved a C in both exams (OCR).

This year I've realised that the only reason why I, and others in my class who achieved grades C or above did so was because we all did a decent amount of revision in our own time. The teacher we have insists on using booklets which although good, she fails to correctly highlight key elements of each topic.

I understand all the weight and blame cannot be put towards the teacher so in order to avoid making this the case come results day, I've decided to find a way to effectively teach myself and revise A2 criminal law.

Each of us got one of the OCR criminal law books (third edition), but there is a lot of waffle which I only managed to recognise last year when I had a fairly good grounding to build on.

Can anyone help suggest any sites, resources or anything at all that can help me teach myself the content required for the spec? Last year was much easier with a large emphasis on AO1 marks which are easier to obtain than AO2/3s (in my opinion), but right now I'm struggling with the structure of essays and what sort of things can get me AO2/3 marks.

In Psychology I just needed a few practice essays and some guidance and now I understand the structure and what type of input I need to give in order to gain marks, but I am yet to have similar guidance for A2 Law..

Sorry for the long post, I hope someone can help me, would be massively appreciated! :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by Lil_Jatt
I studied AS law last year and achieved a C in both exams (OCR).

This year I've realised that the only reason why I, and others in my class who achieved grades C or above did so was because we all did a decent amount of revision in our own time. The teacher we have insists on using booklets which although good, she fails to correctly highlight key elements of each topic.