The Student Room Group

Can't stay awake during lectures

So I'm a first year student and I've found I'm only awake for the first 20 minutes of a lecture before I conk out. I've tried pinching myself, drinking water, writing etc to stay awake but it doesn't help.

My body feels just feels numb and no matter how hard I try to fight it I've slept off. This happens everywhere like on the bus if I'm not standing up, if I'm in a really big group of people and the attentions not on me and..... when I'm out clubbing even if I'm enjoying myself

I'm also anemic and I've been taking Iron tablets for 3 months now, which I feel lately have not been working.

I try eating healthy with eating lean red meats and everything but I just can't help it. I find myself not listening in lectures, when I get home I'm usually straight to bed before I can do any work and when I wake up I'm still tired usually not bothered to do any reading.

Anyone in the same position as me or have any tips on staying awake?

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Bump

Anybody please?
Are you getting enough sleep, eating breakfast etc?

May be an idea to speak to your GP.
Original post by Georgiina_Tee
So I'm a first year student and I've found I'm only awake for the first 20 minutes of a lecture before I conk out. I've tried pinching myself, drinking water, writing etc to stay awake but it doesn't help.

My body feels just feels numb and no matter how hard I try to fight it I've slept off. This happens everywhere like on the bus if I'm not standing up, if I'm in a really big group of people and the attentions not on me and..... when I'm out clubbing even if I'm enjoying myself

I'm also anemic and I've been taking Iron tablets for 3 months now, which I feel lately have not been working.