The Student Room Group

Graduate without a job

Hello everyone

I graduated in July with a first class master's degree in a science from a Russell Group university but I've so far failed to find a job. I feel like I've exhausted most avenues and I'm wondering why I bothered getting myself in what amounts to just under £30k worth of debt.

The big job websites do not have many jobs applicable to my degree, they mainly seem to be endless sales and recruitment jobs. I've been in contact with a few recruitment agencies but I know they only bother sending my generic CV without a cover letter to companies and I'm pretty certain most companies ignore recruitment agencies anyway. I have got around this by finding out the name of the company in question and applying directly to them. Unsurprisingly, when I apply directly with a CV and cover letter they actually respond! I guess this way they do not have to pay recruitment agencies any commission. So far I've had three interviews but no job offer.

It just feels like I'm going nowhere fast and my salary expectation has progressively dropped since I graduated. Now I'm willing to work for free just to get the experience! I'm currently stuck at home in front of my laptop with my phone all day searching for jobs and it's really starting to get to me. In the meantime, I've taken a part time retail job but even that isn't permanent - It's only Xmas cover.

Anyone else in a similarly depressing situation?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
as if I wrote this.

I figured out the same trend with regards to getting interviews if you apply directly. When I applied continuously to the recruitment agencies and got no interviews ,I applied directly to the companies and I got interviews. Why is that? What am I missing ? Whats the missing link between me-recruiters and the companies?!