The Student Room Group

Would like to apply for oxbridge ( economics ) but feel my Gcse grades are low.

I achieved 7 A's at GCSE including Maths and 2 B's which for standards of Ox bridge applicants is terrible. I was a bit of a rebel child and lacked study as well as not working in my lessons which is why i ended up with these results. although you might say they are very good for some people i personally find them embarrassing. However i am intent on doing Economics and management at oxford. I am currently studying AS levels ( economics , history modern ,chemistry , geology ) and have taken up maths as level at home with my mum who is a maths teacher. i am also in basketball team. firstly do you think that 5 as levels is to much to handle? for economics I am going to Villiers park which i think will help with my application form. i am also doing an EPQ on the economics of either money laundering or rare earth metals do you think it is stupid to hope to apply to oxford ? I hope to get A*AAA at a2 and i believe i have the potential to achieve. I am also interested in studying PPE at oxford.
does anyone have good advice on aiming for oxford with my type of GCSE ? has anyone got to oxford/Cambridge with these qualifications ?
Am i plain foolish to believe i can make it to Oxford ?
Reply 1
First thing you need to do is to discuss your A level workload with your teachers and parents. Doing 5 is a lot of work for anybody and could actually be detrimental to your studies causing you to under perform. You will have to decide if it is better to focus on 3/4 A levels than the 5 you are doing.

Obviously Maths is 100% needed to even apply to E+M, and it is good that your mother is able to teach you that. I assume she of A-level standard and is up to date with the curriculum else you can be in even more bother.