The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

Chances of being accepted at Oxford? Is it worth applying?

Firstly, apologies if I have posted this in the wrong place!

I would like to apply for the M.St in British and European History.
Could anyone please give me any advice whether or not it is worth applying? Below is some information about my first degree.

+ I graduated from the University of Glasgow this year with a joint honours degree in History and German of the first class.
+ I spent my junior honours at a university in Germany where most of my courses were in German and my average grade was A-.
+ I got an A3 for my dissertation and I have 4 history courses at an A grade and 2 courses at a B grade.
+ My German results are not as good as the history ones.
+ I have mainly C's for my first two years of university (I know they don't count but they may come into consideration
+ I speak fluent German and as I am spending this year in Spain, will also have intermediate Spanish by the time I would start.

Any advice would be helpful! Thank you in advance
Reply 1
Postgrad entrance is a lot less competitive than undergrad and your academic background sounds absolutely fine. If you can afford it, you seem to have as good a chance as any.

Be aware that you'll probably need to provide proof that you can fund yourself through the course, in advance. It seems to be one of the conditions for entry for many postgrad courses at Oxford these days.
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford
Reply 2
Original post by Klix88
Postgrad entrance is a lot less competitive than undergrad and your academic background sounds absolutely fine. If you can afford it, you seem to have as good a chance as any.

Be aware that you'll probably need to provide proof that you can fund yourself through the course, in advance. It seems to be one of the conditions for entry for many postgrad courses at Oxford these days.