The Student Room Group

Help needed on Sequences and Series :(

Hi all,

I'm new to student room and I needed some help on some Sequences and Series but didnt know how to get the help.

Its AQA Core 2.

Ill post the Question on this link below (not spam) so that you can see trhe full question.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BZ1uE9UIcAAHjP1.jpg:large

It is question 7, but feel free to do the others too :biggrin:

Thanks

Arjan M
Original post by ArjanM
It is question 7, but feel free to do the others too :biggrin:

This isn't a homework service. Post what you've tried so far and we'll guide you in the right direction.
Original post by ArjanM

To get you started, write down all the equation you know from the question using the formula for the general term of an arithmetic sequence.
Hi, try working through each number and write as follows:

If U1 = 5, then U2 will be (U1)+p which equals 5+p (as U1 is 5 as you're told), then continue with your value with U2.
Reply 4
I've tried doing
5=U0 + P
17=U3 + P in simultaneous equations but that gives me the wrong answer.

I'm not sure what else to try. I've used mymaths and sank earning but they don't have any similar questions.

That's as far as I got I'm afraid.
Reply 5
Original post by aasvogel
Hi, try working through each number and write as follows:

If U1 = 5, then U2 will be (U1)+p which equals 5+p (as U1 is 5 as you're told), then continue with your value with U2.

Provlem is, we know what u1 and u4 is. When I have U2 = 5 + p, I can't work out U3
Original post by ArjanM
Provlem is, we know what u1 and u4 is. When I have U2 = 5 + p, I can't work out U3

You can't work out an exact value for U3 (yet), but you can write an expression for it:

U3 = (U2)+p

What expression do you have for U2? Substitute that in.
Reply 7
Original post by ArjanM

Each is successive term is just the last term add p. You have u2, so you can work out u3 and u4 in terms of p ans from there it's just a simple algebraic equation.