The Student Room Group

Graduated, but not confident in my abilities

Hi, I graduated with a 2:2, which isn't great I know. I didn't put nearly enough effort into making a 2:1 or higher due to lack of motivation, but am stuck with this nonetheless!

I find I have more motivation in a working environment than anywhere else which means I'd probably learn a lot more, but I highly doubt anyone would take me on. I'm just curious as to what options I might have in order to feel more confident or learn more in the Computing sector (Database work, web design, programming, etc)?
Original post by Powellellogram
Hi, I graduated with a 2:2, which isn't great I know. I didn't put nearly enough effort into making a 2:1 or higher due to lack of motivation, but am stuck with this nonetheless!

I find I have more motivation in a working environment than anywhere else which means I'd probably learn a lot more, but I highly doubt anyone would take me on. I'm just curious as to what options I might have in order to feel more confident or learn more in the Computing sector (Database work, web design, programming, etc)?

Have you looked at smaller companies? They're less likely to have a "must have a 2:1" filter :yes:
Reply 2
I have, but like I said I still don't feel as though I'd fit in due to lack of knowledge. I know for a fact there will be much better candidates out there with much better skills, as I still have a lot to learn in most aspects of computing. Most companies seem to require that you're "competant" in a specific aspect and I don't feel I am. I'd need training whilst on the job but I do learn quickly, not sure if that's a valid enough reason for anyone to take me on though?
If you don't believe in yourself, how can an employer believe in you enough to hire you from an interview?

Perhaps take classes in your own time to get you up to a standard you deem satisfactory.
Reply 4
Original post by Powellellogram