The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Durham or Manchester?

hi!
i am going to apply graduate school now. i am not sure for choosing durham or manchester. manchester have great international reputation while durham is better in uk. why is that? as a international student i really confusing about that. just compare teach quality which one should i choose?

thx
Reply 1
I had exactly the same decision to make recently and got about a 50/50 mix on opinions. Apparently Durham is more of a picturesque town and Manchester more of a thriving metropolis. Ultimately, I went with Manchester because I liked the program so much more. But, I really had a tough time of it. If the programs were identical I probably would have picked Durham.
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
Reply 2
Original post by wow007051
hi!
i am going to apply graduate school now. i am not sure for choosing durham or manchester. manchester have great international reputation while durham is better in uk. why is that? as a international student i really confusing about that. just compare teach quality which one should i choose?

thx

Because Manchester is a much larger university, and produces a greater quantity of research across the faculties (note quantity, not necessarily always better quality). This is what the international league tables consider. Domestic league tables consider things such as research quality, student satisfaction (among undergraduates), career prospects, entry standards (again, among undergraduates) and other factors.

It's difficult to compare teaching quality without knowing the department/course you'll be applying to. Also, as a postgraduate, are you interested in research? Are you applying for a taught or research postgraduate programme?
I'd personally go with Durham.
Reply 4