The Student Room Group

I think my letter of recommendation is crap..?

Obviously, I can't post it in its entieity here, but its very short (70-80 words, on my phone so I don't have a word counter available atm. It is literally 6 lines.)

I am an international student, by the way.

Here is what it states:

- Capable student
- very good command of English
- showed interest in international politics
- "am sure he will benefit from studying at British university"

Basically, I just feel it's so short and lackluster, doesn't make me stand out at all.

There is no other teacher I can ask :frown: do you think the letter is bad?

Can I ask for my teacher to change it? How would I do that?
Original post by MrDigBick
Obviously, I can't post it in its entieity here, but its very short (70-80 words, on my phone so I don't have a word counter available atm. It is literally 6 lines.)

I am an international student, by the way.

Here is what it states:

- Capable student
- very good command of English
- showed interest in international politics
- "am sure he will benefit from studying at British university"

Basically, I just feel it's so short and lackluster, doesn't make me stand out at all.

There is no other teacher I can ask :frown: do you think the letter is bad?

Can I ask for my teacher to change it? How would I do that?

Given that your reference should be the same length as a PS, it sounds like he simply doesn't know what he's doing, because it's not a university system that he's familiar with.

There's some really useful information here, so I'd suggest sitting down with him and very nicely asking him to use the info there to produce something closer to the expected length http://www.ucas.com/how-it-all-works/advisers-and-referees/referees/undergraduate
Reply 2
Original post by Origami Bullets
Given that your reference should be the same length as a PS, it sounds like he simply doesn't know what he's doing, because it's not a university system that he's familiar with.