The Student Room Group

Rejected by all my foundation in Medicine courses....now Psychology degree?

Hi I'm currently studying Psychology, Sociology and a BTEC in Health and Social Care. As I do not have science A-levels I cannot apply for Medicine directly or any science degrees.

I've been rejected by my foundation courses after my interviews.

Basically I was wondering if I could receive some advice as to whether I should study Psychology at uni and then apply as a postgraduate to Medicine. Or would taking a year out and applying to foundation courses again be a better route? Thanks.
Reply 1
Generally if you've been rejected after Interview for foundation courses - It probably wouldn't be wise to take a year out and re-apply to the same courses as they wouldn't accept your application.

If you were to however, apply to different universities then for foundation courses then this could potentially be an option for you. I don't think there is a better route but note that some universities will require you have a science degree when applying for GEM so it would be wise to check requirements and some will also request that you have Science A Levels. You should also not underestimate the competitive nature of Graduate entry, it is much more competitive than UG Medicine and that itself is very competitive.

You could potentially do foundation year science degrees? I'm aware that Manchester offer a Life Sciences Foundation option after which you can proceed onto any of the courses offered by the School - this would put you in good stead when applying to Medicine.

Good luck with whatever option you go through with :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by mariya101
Hi I'm currently studying Psychology, Sociology and a BTEC in Health and Social Care. As I do not have science A-levels I cannot apply for Medicine directly or any science degrees.