The Student Room Group

How long after graduating does a degree become worthless?

If someone graduates with a degree, but doesn't find "relevant work experience related to their degree" within a short time period, how soon would the degree become worthless in the pursuit of entry level/graduate level roles?

I've asked a few people IRL, but got answers ranging from 1-5 years.

Personally, I graduated 2.5 years ago and get very little response from any degree related job roles.

I feel my time now is wasted and I should consider other pastures.

Scroll to see replies

When I was applying to graduate schemes, many stipulated that you were either a final year student or a "recent" graduate, e.g. within the last 1-2 years, so your figure of 1-5 years sounds reasonable.

That said, for higher positions that require a degree, that you might not be able to progress to without a degree, I don't think a degree obtained any number of years ago would be "worthless" in that context.
(edited 4 years ago)
Reply 2
Never. A graduate still has credibility because of the fact you got there. As a wise old teacher once said to me, 'it is worth putting effort in to revising for your exams as, once you have them, no one can take them away from you'
Reply 3
Think its more about how BIG are the gaps in your CV e.g. graduates with a degree then does nothing for five years. You just can't explain it away...
Reply 4
So I'm most likely ****ed now.
Reply 5
Original post by grumbeale
If someone graduates with a degree, but doesn't find "relevant work experience related to their degree" within a short time period, how soon would the degree become worthless in the pursuit of entry level/graduate level roles?

I've asked a few people IRL, but got answers ranging from 1-5 years.

Personally, I graduated 2.5 years ago and get very little response from any degree related job roles.

I feel my time now is wasted and I should consider other pastures.