The Student Room Group

Depression and procrastination

Hi,

I am in my final year of university (English degree) and for the past 2 months have been in a deep and constant depression. I have suicidal thoughts most days and feel exhausted all day. I am going to see my doctor tomorrow, but my immediate worry is how I have an exam in 17 days and two 5000 word essays due in about 8 days.

I have done 1000/5000 of one essay and have all of the quotes/information I need. Apart from having some vague ideas for the second (the one due in first) I haven't even started it, although I read the texts a few months ago. Not done a single thing for it, though. Where my exam is concerned, I have to choose four authors to write about, and I haven't done a single thing for that either. 15 days to go. The only thing that makes me feel better about that is that it's a seen exam, so I get the questions 48 hours beforehand.

I keep telling myself I'm going to get out of bed and work all day, every day. I tell myself 'just 1000 words then you can rest' and I'm getting nowhere. I have always procrastinated, but this time it's different. I'm like a computer on standby. I'm furious with myself for leaving it this late and yet with all my worry that I have ruined my degree with just months before my graduation, I STILL cannot do what has to be done. I know it's not forced upon me, I know I can give it up at any point. I used to love studying and learning, now I have no interest in anything but lying down/wanting to die. I can't fail though.

I am not looking for sympathy, just some encouragement that I have not totally screwed up my degree. Two essays and a massive exam to study for in less than 2.5 weeks...it's do-able, right?