The Student Room Group

Meeting with potential PhD supervisor- what to expect?

Hi guys

I contacted a professor in my university that seems to have similar research interests to me from their online profile, and they have offered to meet up for a coffee to discuss my options. At this stage, I do not have a defined research proposal, just the area I would like to work in and it is open to change. I was expecting to have a formal meeting in their office or something, but the informal coffee idea has really thrown me. What sort of thing should I expect at this meeting? Is he going to want me to rock up with a research proposal and sell it to him? Also, I have been working full time since I finished my masters in August, and feel really out of the academic loop! I'm worried he'll grill me on things I don't know.

Has anyone had a meeting like this, and what was it like? I think at the moment I'm just really worried about having coffee with someone I've never met and who is 100x cleverer than me...but I want to be able to get over this kind of anxiety so that I can be successful in a PhD and not feel constantly intimidated :s-smilie:
Reply 1
I suspect it's just a chat, just make sure you have an idea of what sort of things interest you within that field and the direction it's taking (as long as you're genuinely interested this should come naturally). They're probably not 100x cleverer than you, most people in life are just winging it.
Reply 2
A good idea is to read some of his most recent publications. Make sure you're aware of their particular current interests and be prepared to talk about them in general terms.

I doubt he's going to expect you to present him with a fully-formed research proposal over an informal coffee. Obviously having ideas about what directions your research will take, would be very helpful. Some potential supervisors like to direct their students a little, and giving him a bit of wiggle room to contribute might go down well.