The Student Room Group

Water in passenger footwell

My 2000 Clio has been pooling water in the passenger foot well. Window and door were closed before you ask.The water is sitting in the passenger foot well but in the corner closest to the driver. I read that it could be to do with the sunroof, but I've run water down it and it seems to be running off completely fine. I have removed leafs from drains too. I have no idea what it could be. Please help!

I have been drying the car but it seems pointless because its just going to rain again soon. I have pulled the carpet up a bit, but it's held down a lot.

Please be clear in your answers since I'm not very good with cars. Cheers!
Reply 1
Is there a sickly sweet smell in the car? If you dip your fingers in the water and then rub them together are they sticky or tacky? If there's no water leaking into the car then it may be that your heater matrix has failed and is dumping cooling fluid into the footwell. The best way to trace a leak is to completely dry it out, and then lay some paper down in the footwell and get a friend to use a pressure washer to spray all over the sunroof, door, and bonnet of the car and sit inside and see where the water is coming from, and then trace it back up to where it's coming in. Then from there you can work out how to seal the leak.
Nope, it's not sickly or sweet. I'm sure its plain old water because these pools appear after heavy rain. The rest of the car is bone dry except the passenger foot well.

I'm going to try your method of spraying water on the car.
This is a VERY common problem with Corsa C's...

I know you drive a Clio, but some of the reasons were:

Door seals not sealed properly
Heater Matrix
Brake Servo (MOST COMMON)

Check some Clio forums :smile:
I've been on some clio forums but a lot of the info was contradicting. I don't think it's the door seal, because the immediate area around the door is dry but the corner furthest away from the door gets wet.