The Student Room Group
Waterfront bar, King's College
King's College London
London

Studying in London?

Hey, well .. I got an offer for King´s College and I´m so happy, but I keep thinking bout the costs of living there. Like, with paying for rent and food, idk if I´ll be able to buy anything else or even go out. Could someone share their experience with me please? :smile: .
Moved to the King's College section :smile:
Waterfront bar, King's College
King's College London
London
Reply 2
Haven't really posted much since I graduated, but thought I may as well help you answer your questions as I stumbled across this.

I was in a similar position 5 years ago. Choice between 2 Universities in the North West or 2 in London. I decided to go for the 2 in London.

The reason was simple. London has so much to offer for a student. But you are right. It costs a shed load in terms of living costs. However, it depends on your situation to be honest. Are you able to get a maintenance grant/loan? Have you got much money at the moment? Are your family able to support your costs?

I had worked part-time the year before going to Uni and definitely needed the maintenance loan, as well as some help from my dad, in order to keep going. I'd strongly advise that you get a job whilst at Uni if you can.

But a lot depends on your personal situation. If you want more advice then feel free to PM me with a bit more detail so I can be more specific. I've been through it all :smile:
Hello!