The Student Room Group

Can dyslexia get worse?

I'm in my final year at college studying a levels and only a few weeks ago it was discovered I have dyslexia. Whilst doing GCSE's I thought there could be something there but always believed my teachers at this top private school would pick up on it if there was.

Now I know I am for sure, my wording of sentences and how I phrase what I want to say (my main issue) is taking me even longer than before, could it be getting worse? Or is it because I know I am for sure? I'm forgetting how to spell really basic words too :frown:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by charlieejobson
I'm in my final year at college studying a levels and only a few weeks ago it was discovered I have dyslexia. Whilst doing GCSE's I thought there could be something there but always believed my teachers at this top private school would pick up on it if there was.

Now I know I am for sure, my wording of sentences and how I phrase what I want to say (my main issue) is taking me even longer than before, could it be getting worse? Or is it because I know I am for sure? I'm forgetting how to spell really basic words too :frown:

Posted from TSR Mobile

Dyslexia is a neurological condition, a specific learning difficulty, rather than a mental health condition. So your thread has been moved to Disabled Students by another moderator.

But are you actually finding your mental health being affected?

As far as I'm aware, the short answer is no. Your cognitive abilities won't significantly change. At least not without reason (e.g. a brain injury). But then I'm not a Psychologist.

However, self-esteem is important. If you're starting to lack confidence and experience self-doubt this can have an effect. Also depression and stress can make concentration (and forming sentences, whether verbally or in writing) difficult for anyone.

Or, yes, it could be a case that you're fixating too much on the fact that you have dyslexia.