The Student Room Group

Should I be extremely worried (very low marks)

Okay so I'm currently studying first year at a uni where the first year counts for 10%

Now all my other modules I seem to be on a 2:1 or high 2:2

However this one module which is maths based, I took 2 tests before january and they accumulate to a worth of 30% on the overall module

my average for the 30% was 38.5...

I can't understand how I did so bad but the fact is I did and it's really put me down.

I'm scared I'm not gonna be able to average a 2:1 overall for the year, I'll need to get like 75 in my final exam to get a 2:1 for this module so that's out the question

but I'm more worried about averaging a 2:1 overall, am I over thinking this or should I be ready to retake a year?
Original post by Itssodamnbig
Okay so I'm currently studying first year at a uni where the first year counts for 10%

However this one module which is maths based, I took 2 tests before january and they accumulate to a worth of 30% on the overall module

I can't understand how I did so bad but the fact is I did and it's really put me down.

I'm scared I'm not gonna be able to average a 2:1 overall for the year, I'll need to get like 75 in my final exam to get a 2:1 for this module so that's out the question

but I'm more worried about averaging a 2:1 overall, am I over thinking this or should I be ready to retake a year?

Have you talked to your lecturer? They will help you understand where you have gone wrong and where you need to succeed.
Definitely talk to the lecturer about it and if you haven't already get feedback from the tests.
You can still pull up the grade with the remaining 70% of the module but to do that you need to know where you've been going wrong.
You don't need a 2.1 in every module to get a 2.1 overall, in my first year I got 48% and 49% in two of my modules and still got a mid 2.1 for the year, it depends how strong your other modules are.