The Student Room Group
Reply 1
GarageMc
For those that dont know what drifting is, its like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yoqn8flp3Hg

I was wondering whether if your round a racing track whether drifting or cornering would be faster. For doing U turn corners at high speeds, drifting seems to be pretty efficient, but Im no pro.

Anyone got ideas?

Clearly drifting will be faster because to lose grip you need to be going at a higher speed anyway, however, it will only be faster if you can control it properly. Also, obviously for a wide corner there's no point in drifting anyway, you just need to keep a good line.
How does a F1 car take a corner? How does a rally car take some corners?

I.e. it depends.
Reply 3
pghstochaj
How does a F1 car take a corner? How does a rally car take some corners?

I.e. it depends.

Well in those vehicles you have got no choice.

I am talking about taking something like a skyline round silverstone or another similar tarmac track.
I expect it is actually cornering properly, and if not, for any consistancy, it would be. Drifting may look nice but it's little more than that
Reply 5
It would depend on the surface, surely?

Tarmac - and I would of most certainly thought cornering. Anything rough, and drifting will be the answer.

Oh - it would also depend on the car :smile:
I doubt my focus would drift into anything except a ditch :frown:
Reply 7
Drifting is faster than cornering only while rallying, because that is when you have to make the most out of your lack of traction. While on tarmac you can make use of your grip and take corners perfectly. Drifting on tarmac is like flossing your car and saying look how cool i am.
Reply 8