The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hi a lot of places do, i found http://www.gdc-uk.org/Dentalprofessionals/Education/Pages/Dental-therapist-qualifications.aspx helpful. have a look on there. :smile: good luck
Reply 2
Hi,
I'm a mature student and mum of 2 looking to apply for DH / DT in 2015. I have no dental nursing experience but satisfy the academic entry requirements. I am doing work experience with the hygienist at the moment.

Of those of you who were offered an interview last year, who were not previously dental nurses, how many hours / weeks of work experience did you have within dentistry?

Many thanks.
Reply 3
Hi I'm a dental nurse with 6 years experience, national certificate in dental nursing, fluoride competency course completed, 5 GCSE's inc double science and just this saturday sat my Oral Health Education exam (hopefully pass!) I've struggled on finding places to apply as I don't have an A-level in biology so leeds and Bristol just said don't even bother applying. I've applied to Teeside, Newcastle, Liverpool, Essex, Birmingham. They have said they will consider me without an A-level so let's see if they do!
Reply 4
Hi I have 12 GCSE's grade A* - C , AVCE in health & social care, dental nursing qualification, dental radiography, orthodontic nursing qualification & oral health educator qualification, I have 10years dental experience & I have tried twice to get on the course with no success, I'm unsure of what these universities are looking for? It's very competitive :frown:
Reply 5
It's so unfair! When I was doing my dental nurse training it was the age that I should of done my a levels, they are really putting a barrier on professional development for nurses. Have u reapplied this year? If so where too?
Reply 6
Hi, I am also applying for a place on dhdt course. where are you all applying too??
Reply 7