The Student Room Group

AQA A2 Spanish Listening/Reading/Writing 2014

I couldn't find one for this year so thought this would be useful

I'm currently struggling with my literary text - Casa de Bernarda Alba - and movie - Maria Llena Eres de Gracia

I did a practice question for CBDA and I got 33/45, which is pretty low considering how I'm aiming for an A*, but my teacher's comments are useless. he keeps saying to me "you haven't developed a writing style you're losing marks because of it" and i literally do not understand what he means

I'm thinking I'll just try and come up with a template which I basically just input adjectives and quotes etc to make it relevant to the question - I have a good command of the language , but my teacher just seems completely anal about the way I do it

anyone got any words of wisdom?
(edited 10 years ago)
Hi - thanks for starting this - I am also studying La Casa for my written exam, and am too aiming for an A*.

Don't be too disheartened by 33 - it is out of 40, not 45, and that is at least an A. Was it your first one? My first one was 30/40, but having now done 8/9, I am managing to scrape into 37-9/40. We could send each other our essays, with marked annotations perhaps to learn/improve?

My current structure is :

Intro -

two/three sentences summarising what the play is about, quoting the subtitle of the play.

Then linking that to a bit of relevant context e.g. if it was a theme based essay, I would say that the central theme is oppression, which manifests itself through religion, tradition, mourning etc and that Lorca was adverse to the conservative oppression that existed in society at the time.