The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Durham International Students 2014

Hi everyone! :biggrin:

My name is Sarah and I'm an international student from Hong Kong.

International students might encounter some problems like language barrier, jetlag, scholarships, homesickness, not being able to attend open days...

But it's fine, because we will support and help each other! :jumphug:

So we could discuss everything in this thread, from the reason why you choose to study abroad to your least favourite British food, scholarships for international students to jetlag.

Team Internationals!

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

Hiya Sarah! (: Well you already know I'm Laura, but it's nice to meet you again :colone: I've been studying in New Zealand for a while, but I'm actually Malaysian so I've encountered quite a few of the problems you mentioned above. So I have family in HK and it's quite normal for people to study abroad, but what made you choose Durham/the other places you applied to? I saw somewhere you liked Bath as well, right? :bath:
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
Reply 2
Original post by headless-chicken
Hiya Sarah! (: Well you already know I'm Laura, but it's nice to meet you again :colone: I've been studying in New Zealand for a while, but I'm actually Malaysian so I've encountered quite a few of the problems you mentioned above. So I have family in HK and it's quite normal for people to study abroad, but what made you choose Durham/the other places you applied to? I saw somewhere you liked Bath as well, right? :bath:

Hi Laura! :biggrin:

I have been to New Zealand before and it's such a lovely place! :top:

It's a bit embarrassing to admit that, but I originally chose Durham because of league rankings. Durham does pretty well on every league table, and it seems to have great reputation. (although no one seems to know Durham in HK :eek:)