The Student Room Group

Sick and home from uni

Hi all :smile:

I'm a Scandinavian student studying in London. At my uni there are certain rules in regards to absences. You can miss classes in a given subjects about three times, beyond that you need a Doctor's note. This needs to be delivered within 48 hrs and approved.

What makes things more difficult is that if you're more than 10 mins late to class, you're marked absent. While I do understand the importance of being respectful and arrive on time, things do come up. Especially when you're traveling through central London every morning.
I've just moved into a new flat and am still trying to figure out the most effective route to go to school. There are no direct buses not involving a great deal of walking and I have to change tube lines anyway. I live in central London (SW) but today I left my house an hour before the lecture, I was still late.

Anyway...the past week I've been ill. I woke up with heavy fever, going hot and cold. I stayed in a couple of days, just sleeping in lots of clothes and not leaving the house. A day after I thought about going to uni but as I woke up I got extremely dizzy, got heavy nosebleeds and was worried it would happen again at uni. This weekend I've gotten better though.

I had a private GP here but it's quite expensive and I can't keep spending like I have been the past year. I've looking up NHS offices to register with one. Turns out I need to fill out a form, bring my passport and bring a utility bill with my name and address. I haven't been living here that long so I don't have any bills yet.
At some point I need to get to the doctor and hopefully get a note proving I've been ill.