The Student Room Group

Ask an Admissions Tutor III - 3 March -18 April

Hello everyone. Last year I hosted two threads which allowed students to ask any questions they had about the admissions processes at Cambridge. I have now changed colleges from Corpus to Christ's but intend to do the same this year. This, then, is your opportunity to ask an admissions tutor anything about Cambridge. I will be answering questions until Good Friday and then, like last year, will run another thread in early summer and another after the A Level results come out.

I look forward to answering your questions over the coming weeks.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hello,

I am a sophomore studying at a private boarding school in the United States. I would like to know which AP examinations subjects are relevant for me to study biological and biomedical sciences at Christ's. Furthermore, will Christ's ask for my high school grades (outside of AP/SAT I/SAT II scores) during the admission process?

I thank you in advance for your response.
Original post by edithuman
Hello,

I am a sophomore studying at a private boarding school in the United States. I would like to know which AP examinations subjects are relevant for me to study biological and biomedical sciences at Christ's. Furthermore, will Christ's ask for my high school grades (outside of AP/SAT I/SAT II scores) during the admission process?

I thank you in advance for your response.

Hi there, thanks for being the first questioner. if you want to study Biological Natural Sciences or Medicine, then similar APs would be relevant. We would usually ask for at least five Grade 5s. If we were to specify particular subjects, they would be science subjects. For NSB and Medicine, the most relevant Sciences are Chemistry, Biology and Maths (both Calculus and Statistics), with the Physics APs in fourth/fifth depending on how many Maths APs you did.

We wouldn't ask for non public exam results. I hope that is helpful.
Reply 3