The Student Room Group

burned out?

Basically, I'm a beginner at sports of any kind and I went overboard! I assumed that people who did sports just kept pushing past the fatigue in order to gain strength. Life showed me differently when I was so fatigued that I couldn't walk for three days after quite a bit leg-heavy exercise over the last three months, with an increase over the last two weeks (so I guess I couldn't recover in time). It crept up on me by surprise-I was feeling tired but which uni student isn't, and felt the urge to run. Five minutes in I just sort of fell down, completely burned out and over the next few days I went from walking to avoiding putting all weight anywhere altogether. It's the fourth day since then I feel a bit less sore. Any advice how to speed recovery/how long it might take/how to avoid it? I want to go back to playing outside asap! (tomorrow actually)
Reply 1
Doesn't sound healthy, not bearing any weight for three days - "consider seeing a doctor" is the blanket advice I'd give in this situation to cover my ass.

Learn to listen to your body. Rome wasn't built in a day. If you need more rest, take it. These things take time to adapt to.
Five minutes knocking you out for a few days is quite strange, perhaps you are running incorrectly, or have flat feet? A lot of people tend to land on the back of their feet rather than the padding at the front, which means that the knees have to act as shock absorbers, which tends to damage and hurt the legs. Work on your running technique and as Beardbrah said, take your time.
Reply 3