The Student Room Group

DeMontfort Foundation Studies in Art and Design?

Hi there all! :biggrin: I'm currently trying to decide between MMU and DMU for the Art Foundation.

Origionally i was leaning more towards MMU, however i then had my 'interview' at DMU and it really impressed me.. not just the course but the uni in general.. so then i was really confused!

3 days ago i had my MMU interview, and the interview went AWFUL. it wasnt me, it was the interviewer. he was abrupt and disinterested, and 20 minutes late -_- ..so now im really thinking of going to DMU.

Im kinda thinking that, that was the thing i needed to sway my decision.

I just wondered if anyone knew anything about DMU and especially the Art Foundation? Thanks! :smile:
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
DMU

I did the course and this is my experience (I studied while living at home) The pathway I chose was: Graphic Communication

The course is pretty good if you want to learn a broad range of things, they have many workshops such as glass blowing/wood/printing/photography (the list goes on).

In the first few weeks you just learn the basics like drawing/painting and brushing up on techniques. Also will attend many workshops as I said above there is a wide range of things. Day to day activities consist of registration, then you go off you your bay (You will have a table to yourself and will be placed randomly in the first few weeks, later you will choose a pathway eg. Graphics/Photography/Fashion etc. you will then be placed in a specific area with other people who chose the same pathway)
The foundation course takes place is a huge studio and there is a lot of space to work in.

You will be set tasks in the first few weeks but later you will work on your own and get a ton of support (literally every 1-2 days a tutor would sit down with me to help me develop ideas or to help me put my portfolio together)