The Student Room Group

Will I be behind with the maths?

I'm currently in my second year on a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Engineering, I completed my first year with a Distinction* getting a distinction in all of my units including mathematics for Technicians, this year I'm doing further mathematics for technicians and am hoping to get the distinction aswell.

I have been given a conditional offer from Bristol on Electrical and electronics engineering. Will my mathematical knowledge be strong enough for this course if I haven't done A levels?
Original post by Britzy
I'm currently in my second year on a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Engineering, I completed my first year with a Distinction* getting a distinction in all of my units including mathematics for Technicians, this year I'm doing further mathematics for technicians and am hoping to get the distinction aswell.

I have been given a conditional offer from Bristol on Electrical and electronics engineering. Will my mathematical knowledge be strong enough for this course if I haven't done A levels?

If they've accepted you, they clearly think that you're capable of doing the course well. You may well be behind some people in terms of the content you've covered (although I don't know the syllabus you're doing), but the fact of the matter is that Bristol think you can do it. If you're concerned, contact the University, but I think it'll be fine!
Reply 2
Original post by Chlorophile
If they've accepted you, they clearly think that you're capable of doing the course well. You may well be behind some people in terms of the content you've covered (although I don't know the syllabus you're doing), but the fact of the matter is that Bristol think you can do it. If you're concerned, contact the University, but I think it'll be fine!

Thanks it's just my dad is saying I will struggle. Do you think it would be good if I went through K.A Stroud engineering mathematics?
Original post by Britzy