The Student Room Group

Is LSE worth the price?

Hi Guys!

I wanna do the MSc Development Management from LSE, I got the offer.
Does the Master worth the price??? So much money for a Master, is that usual nowadays? I am from France and Universities are free over there!!! (maybe a bit less recognised...) Please, let me know before I sign the contracts for my loan! :wink:

Also, I just wanna check that my MSc can be business oriented?! I mean, am I obliged to work for NGOs or can I work for a multinational and be part of its developement?

Waiting for your reply,
Regards,
Jenny.
Reply 1
i wouldnt tell you anything specific about the course you will study. but anyone would tell you that the school is worth the price... it is so much money and everyone i know is taking huge loans to fund their studies at the LSE. you will have that name all your life with you, and it will put you ahead of many others in the job market.
Reply 2
I am not an expert on Development Management, but I do think LSE is worth the price. (I recently gave up a 24,000 Euro bourse at Sciences Po, Paris, only to take a student loan and begin my second year of a Masters' in Public Policy at LSE.) So yes, I do think if you're looking for a truly "international" degree, that HUGE tuition bill is worth paying.

PS: If you're French, you should be eligible for the Home/ EU student fee, which makes it MUCH LESS PAINFUL!
Reply 3
PS: If you're French, you should be eligible for the Home/ EU student fee, which makes it MUCH LESS PAINFUL!

LSE master's tuitions are the same for home and international students...
Reply 4
Ozziee
LSE master's tuitions are the same for home and international students...

Not all of them are. I haven't looked up Development Management, but some of the masters programs (mine included) have different home and overseas rates.
Reply 5
mine is, and i think most of them are the same, especially finance, economics, and management. there might be exceptions, such as development management.